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The emergency repeal of 8 AAC 45.082(l)(2) is made permanent: 

   (2) repealed 12/1/2015;  

 

The emergency amendment of 8 AAC 45.082(m) is made permanent to read: 

  (m) A fee or other charge for medical treatment or service provided on or after December 

31, 2010, but before December 1, 2015, may not exceed the board’s fees established in the 

Official Alaska Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule, effective December 31, 2010, 

and adopted by reference. (Eff. 5/28/83, Register 86; am 12/14/86, Register 100; am 7/1/88, 

Register 107; am 10/28/88, Register 108; am 3/16/90, Register 113; am 7/20/97, Register 143; 

am 7/2/98, Register 146; am 2/3/2001, Register 157; am 7/31/2010, Register 195; am 

12/31/2010, Register 196; am 6/27/2011, Register 199; am 7/9/2011, Register 199; am 

11/20/2011, Register 200; am 3/28/2012, Register 201; am 12/1/2015, Register 216) 

Authority: AS 23.30.005  AS 23.30.045  AS 23.30.097 

   AS 23.30.030  AS 23.30.095 

  

The emergency adoption of 8 AAC 45.083 is made permanent and that section is further 

amended to read: 

  8 AAC 45.083. Fees for medical treatment and services. (a) A fee or other charge for 

medical treatment or service provided on or after December 1, 2015, may not exceed the fee 

schedules set out in this section. 

 (b) For medical services provided by physicians under AS 23.30 [THE] (Alaska 

Workers’ Compensation Act), the following conversion factors shall be applied to the total 

facility or non-facility relative value unit [RELATIVE VALUE UNIT] in the Resource-Based 
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Relative Value Scale, adopted by reference in (m) of this section [ESTABLISHED BY THE 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES, AS AMENDED, IN EFFECT AT 

THE TIME OF TREATMENT OR SERVICE]. Medical service or treatment shall be identified 

by a code assigned to that treatment or service in [THE LATEST EDITION OF] the Current 

Procedural Terminology, adopted by reference in (m) of this section: [PUBLISHED BY THE 

AMERICAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION, AS AMENDED.] 

   (1) the [THE] conversion factor for evaluation and management is $80; [80.] 

   (2) the [THE] conversion factor for medicine, [(]excluding anesthesiology,[)] is 

$80; [80.] 

   (3) the [THE] conversion factor for surgery is $205; [205.]  

   (4) the [THE] conversion factor for radiology is $257; [257.]  

   (5) the [THE] conversion factor for pathology and laboratory is $142; [142.]  

   (6) the [THE] relative value for Current Procedural Terminology code 97545 is 

[SHALL BE] 3.41, and the relative value for Current Procedural Terminology code 97546 is 

[SHALL BE] 1.36. 

  (c)  The conversion factor for anesthesiology is $121.82 [121.82], which is to be 

multiplied by the base and time units for each Current Procedural Terminology code established 

in the Relative Value Guide, adopted by reference in (m) of this section [AS AMENDED, 

PUBLISHED BY THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF ANESTHESIOLOGISTS]. 

  (d) For supplies, materials, injections, and other services and procedures coded under the 

Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System, adopted by reference in (m) of this section, 

the following multipliers shall be applied to the following fee schedules established by the 
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Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and [, AS AMENDED,] in effect at the time of 

treatment or service: [.] 

   (1) [PATHOLOGY AND] Clinical Diagnostic Laboratory services, multiplied 

by [LAB, CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES] 6.33; [.] 

   (2) Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies 

(DMEPOS), multiplied by [CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES] 

1.84; [.] 

   (3) Payment Allowance Limits for Medicare Part B Drugs, Average Sale 

Price, multiplied by [CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES] 3.375.  

  (e)  For medical services provided by inpatient hospitals under AS 23.30 [THE] (Alaska 

Workers’ Compensation Act), the conversion factor of 328.2 percent of the hospital specific 

total base rate shall be applied to the Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Groups weight 

adopted by reference in (m) of this section, except that [ESTABLISHED BY THE CENTERS 

FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES, AS AMENDED, IN EFFECT AT THE TIME 

OF TREATMENT OR SERVICE,]  

   (1) the [THE] maximum allowable reimbursement for medical services provided 

by a critical access hospital, rehabilitation hospital, or long term acute care hospital is the lowest 

[LOWER] of 100 percent of billed charges, the charge for the treatment or service when 

provided to the general public, or the charge for the treatment or service negotiated by the 

provider and the employer; [.] 

   (2) the [THE] base rate for Providence Alaska Medical Center is $23,383.10; 

[23,383.10.] 
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   (3) the [THE] base rate for Mat-Su Regional Medical Center is $20,976.66; 

[20,976.66.]  

   (4) the [THE] base rate for Bartlett Regional Hospital is $20,002.93; [20,002.93.]  

   (5) the [THE] base rate for Fairbanks Memorial Hospital is $21,860.73; 

[21,860.73.]  

   (6) the [THE] base rate for Alaska Regional Hospital is $21,095.72; [21,095.72.] 

   (7) the [THE] base rate for Yukon Kuskokwim Delta Regional Hospital is 

$38,753.21; [38,753.21.]  

   (8) the [THE] base rate for Central Peninsula General Hospital is $19,688.56; 

[19,688.56.]  

   (9) the [THE] base rate for Alaska Native Medical Center is $31,042.20; 

[31,042.20.]  

   (10) the [THE] base rate for Mt. Edgecumbe Hospital is $26,854.53; [26,854.53.]  

   (11) on [ON] outlier cases, implants shall be paid at invoice plus 10 percent. 

  (f)  For medical services provided by hospital outpatient clinics or ambulatory surgical 

centers under AS 23.30 [THE] (Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act), an outpatient conversion 

factor of $221.79 [221.79] shall be applied to the relative weights established for each Current 

Procedural Terminology or Ambulatory Payment Classifications code adopted by reference in 

(m) of this section [BY THE CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES, AS 

AMENDED, IN EFFECT AT THE TIME OF TREATMENT OR SERVICE]. For procedures 

performed in an outpatient setting, implants shall be paid at invoice plus 10 percent. 

  (g)  The maximum allowable reimbursement for medical services that do not have current 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Current Procedural Terminology, or Healthcare 
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Common Procedure Coding System codes, a currently assigned Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services relative value, or an established conversion factor is [SHALL BE] the lowest 

[LOWER] of 85 percent of billed charges, the charge for the treatment or service when provided 

to the general public, or the charge for the treatment or service negotiated by the provider and the 

employer.   

 (h)  The maximum allowable reimbursement for prescription drugs is as follows: 

   (1) brand [BRAND] name drugs shall be reimbursed at the manufacturer’s 

average wholesale price [AVERAGE WHOLESALE PRICE] plus a $5 dispensing fee; [.] 

   (2) generic [GENERIC] drugs shall be reimbursed at manufacturer’s average 

wholesale price [AVERAGE WHOLESALE PRICE] plus a $10 dispensing fee; [.] 

   (3) reimbursement [REIMBURSEMENT] for compounded drugs shall be 

limited to medical necessity and reimbursed at the manufacturer’s average wholesale price 

[AVERAGE WHOLESALE PRICE] for each drug included in the compound, [(] listed 

separately by National Drug Code, [)] plus a $10 compounding fee.   

   (i)  The maximum allowable reimbursement for lift off fees and air mile rates for air 

ambulance services rendered under AS 23.30 [THE] (Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act), is as 

follows: 

   (1) for [FOR] air ambulance services provided entirely in this state [ALASKA] 

that are not provided under a certificate issued under 49 U.S.C. 41102 or that are provided under 

a certificate issued under 49 U.S.C. 41102 for charter air transportation by a charter air carrier, 

the maximum allowable reimbursements are as follows: 

  (A) a [A] fixed wing lift off fee may [MUST] not exceed $11,500; [.] 
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  (B) a [A] fixed wing air mile rate may [MUST]not exceed 400 percent of the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services ambulance fee schedule rate [, AS 

AMENDED,] in effect at the time of service; [.] 

  (C) a [A] rotary wing lift off fee may [MUST]not exceed $13,500; [.]   

 (D) a [A] rotary wing air mile rate may [MUST]not exceed 400 percent of the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services ambulance fee schedule rate [, AS 

AMENDED,] in effect at the time of service; [.]   

   (2) for [FOR] air ambulance services in circumstances not covered under [BY] 

(1) of [IN] this subsection, the maximum allowable reimbursement is 100 percent of the billed 

charges. 

   (j)  The following billing and payment rules [SHALL] apply for medical treatment or 

services provided by physicians.  [(1)] Providers and payers shall follow the billing and coding 

rules adopted by reference in (m) of this section [, AS AMENDED, IN EFFECT AT THE 

TIME OF TREATMENT,] as established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

and the American Medical Association, including the use of modifiers. The procedure with the 

largest relative value unit [RELATIVE VALUE UNIT] will be the primary procedure and shall 

[WILL] be listed first on the claim form.  Specific modifiers shall be reimbursed as follows: 

   (1) [(2)] Modifier 50: reimbursement is the lowest of [REIMBURSEMENT 

SHALL BE] 100 percent of the fee schedule amount or [THE LESSER OF] the billed charge for 

the procedure with the highest relative value unit; reimbursement is the lowest of 

[RELATIVE VALUE UNIT. REIMBURSEMENT SHALL BE] 50 percent of the fee schedule 

amount or [THE LESSER OF] the billed charge for the procedure for the second and all 

subsequent procedures; [.] 
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   (2) [(3)] Modifier 51: reimbursement is the lowest of [REIMBURSEMENT 

SHALL BE] 100 percent of the fee schedule amount or [THE LESSER OF] the billed charge for 

the procedure with the highest relative value unit [RELATIVE VALUE UNIT] rendered during 

the same session as the primary procedure reimbursement is the lowest of [. 

REIMBURSEMENT SHALL BE] 50 percent of the fee schedule amount or [THE LESSER OF] 

the billed charge for the procedure with the second highest relative value unit [RELATIVE 

VALUE UNIT] and all subsequent procedures during the same session as the primary procedure; 

[.] 

   (3) [(4)] Modifiers 80, 81, and 82: reimbursement is [REIMBURSEMENT 

SHALL BE] 20 percent of the surgical procedure; [.]   

   (4) [(5)] Modifier PE: (3) reimbursement is [REIMBURSEMENT SHALL BE] 

85 percent of the value of the procedure; state [. STATE] specific modifier PE shall be used 

when services and procedures are provided by a physician assistant [ASSISTANTS] or an 

advanced practice registered nurse; [.]  

   (5) [(6)] Modifier AS: reimbursement is [REIMBURSEMENT SHALL BE] 15 

percent of the value of the procedure; state [. STATE] specific modifier AS shall be used when a 

physician assistant or nurse practitioner acts as an assistant surgeon and bills as an assistant 

surgeon; [.]       

   (6) [(7)] Modifier QZ: reimbursement is [REIMBURSEMENT SHALL BE] 85 

percent of the value of the anesthesia procedure; state [. STATE] specific modifier QZ shall be 

used when unsupervised anesthesia services are provided by a certified registered nurse 

anesthetist; [.]       
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   (7) providers [(8) Providers’ and payers shall follow National Correct Coding 

Initiative edits established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and the American 

Medical Association [, AS AMENDED,] in effect at the time of treatment; if [. When] there is a 

billing rule discrepancy between National Correct Coding Initiative [COUNCIL ON 

COMPENSATION INSURANCE] edits and the American Medical Association Current 

Procedural Terminology Assistant, American Medical Association Current Procedural 

Terminology Assistant guidance governs.   

   (k)  The following billing and payment rules [SHALL] apply for medical treatment or 

services provided by inpatient hospitals, hospital outpatient clinics, and ambulatory surgical 

centers: [.] 

   (1) medical [MEDICAL] services for which there is no Ambulatory Payment 

Classifications weight listed are [SHALL BE] the lowest [LOWER] of 85 percent of billed 

charges, the fee or charge for the treatment or service when provided to the general public, or the 

fee or charge for the treatment or service negotiated by the provider and the employer; [.] 

   (2) status [STATUS] codes C, E, and P are [SHALL BE] the lowest [LOWER] 

of 85 percent of billed charges, the fee or charge for the treatment or service when provided to 

the general public, or the fee or charge for the treatment or service negotiated by the provider and 

the employer; [.] 

   (3) two [TWO] or more medical procedures with a status code T on the same 

claim shall be reimbursed with the highest weighted code paid at 100 percent of the Ambulatory 

Payment Classifications calculated amount and all other status code T items paid at 50 percent; 

[.]   
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   (4) a [A] payer shall subtract implantable hardware from a hospital [AN] 

outpatient clinic’s or ambulatory surgical center’s billed charges and pay separately at 

manufacturer or supplier invoice cost plus 10 percent; [.]  

   (5) when [WHEN] total costs for a hospital inpatient Medicare Severity 

Diagnosis Related Groups coded service exceeds the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services outlier threshold established at the time of service plus the Medicare Severity Diagnosis 

Related Groups payment, then the total payment for that service shall be calculated using the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Inpatient PC Pricer tool as follows: 

  (A) implantable [IMPLANTABLE] charges, if applicable, are subtracted 

from the total amount charged; [.] 

   (B) the [THE] charged amount from (A) of this paragraph [(A)] is 

entered into the most recent version of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 

PC Pricer tool at the time of treatment; [.] 

   (C) the [THE] Medicare price returned by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services PC Pricer tool is multiplied by 2.5, or 250 percent of the Medicare 

price; [.] 

   (D) the [THE] allowable implant reimbursement, if applicable, is the 

invoice cost of the implant [IMPLANT(S)] plus 10 percent, or 110 percent of invoice 

cost; [.] 

    (E) the [THE] amounts calculated in (C) [(C)] and (D) of this paragraph 

[(D)] are added together to determine the final reimbursement.     

  (l)  For medical treatment or services provided by other providers, the maximum 

allowable reimbursement for medical services provided by providers other than physicians, 
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hospitals, outpatient clinics, or ambulatory surgical centers, is [SHALL BE] the lowest 

[LOWER] of 85 percent of billed charges, the fee or charge for the treatment or service when 

provided to the general public, or the fee or charge for the treatment or service negotiated by the 

provider and the employer. 

  (m)  The following material is adopted [INCORPORATED] by reference: 

   (1) Current Procedural Terminology Codes, 2015 edition, produced by the 

American Medical Association, as may be amended; [.] 

   (2) Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System, 2015 edition, produced by 

the American Medical Association, as may be amended; [.] 

   (3) International Classification of Diseases, 2016 edition, valid October 1, 2015 

through September 30, 2016, published by the American Medical Association, as may be 

amended; [.] 

   (4) Relative Value Guide, 2015 edition, produced by the American Society of 

Anesthesiologists, as may be amended; [.] 

   (5) Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition, produced 

by the American Psychiatric Association, as may be amended; [.]   

   (6) Current Dental Terminology, 2015 edition, published by the American Dental 

Association, as may be amended; [.]   

   (7) Resource-Based Relative Value Scale, effective January 1, 2015, produced 

by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, as may be amended; [.]   

   (8) Ambulatory Payment Classifications, effective January 1, 2015, produced by 

the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, as may be amended; [.]   
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   (9) Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Groups, effective January 1, 2015, 

produced by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, as may be amended.   

  (n)  In this section, “maximum allowable reimbursement” means the charge for medical 

treatment or services calculated in accordance with the fee schedule.  (Eff. 12/1/2015, Register 

216; am _3_/_11_/_2016_, Register _217_) 

Authority: AS 23.30.005  AS 23.30.097  AS 23.30.098 

  Editor's note: The above-referenced materials may be found at: Department of Labor 

and Workforce Development, Division of Workers’ Compensation at 1111 W. 8th St., Suite 305 

Juneau, Alaska 99811. 

 

The emergency adoption of 8 AAC 45.900(a)(15) is made permanent to read: 

   (15) [UNLESS THE STATUTORY CONTEXT REQUIRES OTHERWISE,] 

"provider", unless the statutory context requires otherwise,  

(A) means any physician, pharmacist, dentist, or other health service worker or 

any hospital, clinic, or other facility licensed under AS 08 to furnish medical or dental 

services, including chiropractic, physical therapy, and mental health services; 

(B) [, AND] includes an out-of-state person or facility that meets the requirements 

of this section and is otherwise qualified to be licensed under AS 08. 

(Eff. 5/28/83, Register 86; am 12/14/86, Register 100; am 7/1/88, Register 107; am 3/16/90, 

Register 113; am 7/20/97, Register 143; am 7/2/98, Register 146; am 4/16/2010, Register 194; 

am 12/22/2011, Register 200; am 12/1/2015, Register 216) 

Authority: AS 23.30.005  AS 23.30.097  AS 23.30.230 

   AS 23.30.030  AS 23.30.175  AS 23.30.240 
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   AS 23.30.041  AS 23.30.220  AS 23.30.395 

   AS 23.30.090  

Editor’s note:  As of Register 151 (October 1999), the regulations attorney made 

technical revisions under AS 44.62.125(b)(6) to reflect the name change of the Department of 

Labor to the Department of Labor and Workforce Development made by ch. 58, SLA 1999 and 

the corresponding title change of the commissioner of labor.   

An amendment to 8 AAC 45.900(a) to add a definition of “provider” took effect on 

December 1, 2015 as an emergency regulation and was first published in Register 216 

(January 2016).  In reviewing the permanent regulation in accordance with AS 44.62.060 

and 44.62.125, the regulations attorney made technical changes to the definition of 

“provider” in 8 AAC 45.900(a).  The technical changes appeared in the permanent 

regulations as published in Register 217 (April 2016).  The history note for 8 ASAC 45.900 

does not reflect the changes made by the regulations attorney.   

 
THE REGULATIONS REPRODUCED HERE HAVE BEEN PROVIDED BY THE 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT AS A PUBLIC 
COURTESY. WHILE EVERY EFFORT HAS BEEN MADE TO ASSURE THE ACCURACY 
OF THE REPRODUCED VERSION, THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE 
DEVELOPMENT CANNOT GUARANTEE ITS ABSOLUTE ACCURACY. A COPY OF 
THE REGULATIONS AS ORIGINALLY FILED BY THE LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR ARE 
AVAILABLE FROM THE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE 
DEVELOPMENT, DIVISION OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION OR ON THE ALASKA 
ONLINE PUBLIC NOTICE SYSTEM. 
 
THE EMERGENCY REGULATIONS HAVE AN EFFECTIVE DATE OF 12/01/2015, ARE IN 
REGISTER 216, AND WILL APPEAR IN OFFICIAL PUBLISHED FORM IN THE 
JANUARY 2016 SUPPLEMENT TO THE ALASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE. 
 
THE PERMANENT REGULATIONS HAVE AN EFFECTIVE DATE OF 03/11/2016, ARE IN 
REGISTER 217, AND WILL APPEAR IN OFFICIAL PUBLISHED FORM IN THE APRIL 
2016 SUPPLEMENT TO THE ALASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE. 
 


