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Questions about 
your rate, account 
or contributions?

CONTACTS
Juneau Central Office
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK 99811-5509 
Phone: (907) 465-2757 
Toll free: (888) 448-3527 
Fax: (907) 465-2374
Email: ESD.Tax@Alaska.Gov
Relay Alaska: (800) 770-8973

FIELD TAX OFFICES
Anchorage
P.O. Box 241767
Anchorage, AK 99524-1767 
Phone: (907) 269-4850 
Fax: (907) 269-4845 

Fairbanks
675 7th Ave., Station L
Fairbanks, AK 99701-4595 
Phone: (907) 451-2876 
Fax: (907) 451-2883

Juneau
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK 99811-5509 
Phone: (907) 465-2787 
Fax: (907) 465-2374 

Kenai
145 Main Street Loop, 
Suite 143, Kenai, AK 99611
Phone: (907) 283-0350 
Fax: (907) 283-5152

Mat-Su
877 Commercial Drive 
Wasilla, AK 99654-6937 
Phone: (907) 352-2535
Fax: (907) 373-3517

UI Tax Representative 
Toll free: (888) 448-2937

Unemployment Insurance Tax

Alaska Economic Trends Magazine is a monthly publication that covers a broad range  
of economic issues. To view the electronic magazine, search articles and archives,  
and sign up for a FREE electronic subscription visit labor.alaska.gov/trends.

June 2025

Second quarter reports and payments  
are due by July 31, 2025.

Are employee reimbursement 
payments reportable?

For a payment to qualify as a reimbursement for expenses, the 
employer must maintain documentation (i.e., mileage log or receipts) 
showing the reimbursement reflects the actual expense incurred. 
Reimbursement payments made without documentation are not 
considered expense reimbursements and should be included as 
wages on your quarterly contribution report. 
In instances of travel, the reimbursement documentation must 
reflect the date, time, place, amount and the business purpose of the 
expense. Receipts for travel are required unless the reimbursement 
is made under a valid per diem plan. Reimbursement or an allowance 
that exceeds actual expenses are considered reportable wages, 
unless the employee returns the excess amount.

Hiring summer or temporary help?
Workers hired to provide services within the usual course of your 
business are employees. Whether you pay the worker for one day, 
one hour, or even $1, the wages must be reported for Unemployment 
Insurance (UI) tax purposes. Some examples of paid workers that 
should be included on your quarterly contribution report are:

	° Temporary or fill-in staff
	° Tour guides/bus drivers
	° Sports officials
	° Locum tenens
	° Pilots
	° Students working in tourism

	° J1 visa workers
	° Street vendor workers
	° Fair and carnival workers
	° Hunting and fishing guides
	° Boat operators and crew
	° Camp counselors

mailto:ESD.Tax%40Alaska.Gov%0D?subject=
https://labor.alaska.gov/trends/
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Non-profit reporting requirements
Wages paid to directors, corporate or executive officers of non-profit entities are reportable 
for UI purposes, as there is no exclusion in state law. Below are different reporting 
requirements depending on whether the non-profit entity is exempt under Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) 501(a) or 501(c).

	● 501(a) must report wages for any 
employee paid $250 or more in a 
calendar quarter.

	● 501(c) must report all employees’ 
wages if there are four or more 
employees, for some portion of a 
day in 20 different weeks, in the 
current or preceding calendar year. 
These weeks do not need to be 
consecutive.

	● 501(c) must report wages for 
any employee paid $250 more in a 
quarter, even if there were not four 
or more employees in 20 different 
weeks as described above.

Mat-Su Field Tax fax number change
The fax number for the Mat-Su Field Tax office has changed to (907) 373-3517 effective 
immediately.

Mandatory state posters
Several state and federal employment posters, which may 
be required to be posted at worksites, can be downloaded 
or ordered at no charge from the Department Labor and 
Workforce Development Labor Standards and Safety Division. 
To see the posters that are required and available, go to 
labor.alaska.gov/lss/posters.htm. 

Required posters must be visible at worksite locations and 
readily accessible to employees.

https://labor.alaska.gov/lss/posters.htm

