
January 20, 2022

Dear Employers and Employees, 

The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Wage and Hour Administration 

(Department) has developed this letter to provide clarity some of the most common labor laws as they 

pertain to the shore-based fish processing industry. For the purpose of education, this letter is being 

made available as an industry-wide notice to inform employers and employees of these requirements. 

The issues that have been most frequently found in the complaints and subsequent enforcement 

activities are: 

 The absence of written hiring agreements between the employer and the employee;

 Changes to the rate of pay without the required written notice;

 Payment of wages and overtime inconsistent with the Alaska Wage and Hour Act;

 Nonpayment of wages for all hours worked;

 Insufficient or non-existent records of all daily and weekly hours worked by every employee;

 Employees subjected to unlawful deductions from wages, the withholding of paychecks, or

the reimbursement to employers for room and board above statutory limits and without

written authorization;

 Employees not being fully paid within the required time frames after termination;

 Employees not being provided return transportation when the employer is required to do so;

 Employees exposed to amputation hazards from improperly de-energized or unguarded

equipment (AKOSH);

 Inadequate safety training or safety training not presented in language understood by the

employee (AKOSH).

To repeat, this letter has been developed for the purpose of education and addresses complaints and 

misunderstandings often found within the fish processing industry. We will address each of these 

issues in this letter and we are always available to discuss any follow-up questions you may have. 
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Written Hiring Agreements and Changes in the Rate of Pay 

Under Alaska Labor law employers must provide all employees with a written notice of three things: 

their rate of pay, where they will be receiving payment, and the established pay day of not less than 

once per month (weekly, bi-weekly, monthly). Any time the employer elects to make a change any of 

the three items in this agreement, they must provide the employee with another written notification no 

later than on the payday before the time of change. The change cannot be made in the middle of a pay 

period and cannot be retroactive.1 

Minimum Wage and Overtime 

Except as otherwise provided for in law, an employer is required to pay to each employee a minimum 

wage, for all hours worked in a pay period, whether the work is measured by time, piece, commission 

or otherwise.   

The Alaska minimum wage is currently $10.34 per hour as of January 1, 2022 and is adjusted annually.

Barring any allowable exemptions, an employee who works over 8 hours in a day and/or more than 40 

straight-time hours in a week must be paid 1.5 times their regular rate2 of pay. (This requirement of 

the law is referred to as “overtime”).3 Furthermore, if an employee is paid at more than one rate of pay 

for work performed during a workweek, the overtime is to be calculated by using a weighted average 

formula.4  

If the work is directed by or allowed by the employer or if the employer has reason to suspect that the 

employee performed work, the time spent working is compensable time.5  

Accurate Record of Hours Worked 

An employer shall keep an accurate record of all the daily and weekly hours worked by each person.6 

A mere record of hours scheduled may not be sufficient to account for all the hours actually worked by 

the employee. As a best practice, employees should also keep a record of hours separately from their 

employer’s so they can check the employer’s accounting for accuracy at the time of payment. This 

record could also serve as evidence of hours worked in the event a dispute over wages occurs.  

Breaks and Down Time 

If an employee is completely relieved from all duties for a period of 20 minutes or more during which 

the employee may use the time effectively for his/her own purpose, then the period can be classified as 

a break and need not be counted as time worked.7 Again, the employer is expected to keep an accurate 

record of the daily and weekly hours worked by each employee to assure proper payment for all time 

worked. Taking deductions for meal periods that were provided but not taken by the employee, or 

wherein the employee was not completely relieved of all duties while eating is prohibited. 

1 AS 23.05.160 
2 8 AAC 15.100 
3 AS 23.10.060 
4  29 C.F.R. § 778.115 
5 29 C.F.R. § 785.11 (2013) 
6 AS 23.05.080 
7 29 C.F.R. § 785.18 (2013) 
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Orientation and Training 

Time spent in orientation and training that is directly related to the employee’s job, given by or under 

the control of the employer is considered work time and is therefore compensable time. 

Attendance at lectures, meetings, training programs and similar activities need not be counted as 

working time if all four of the following criteria are met:  

(a) Attendance is outside of the employee’s regular working hours;

(b) attendance is in fact voluntary;

(c) the course, lecture, or meeting is not directly related to the employee’s job; and

(d) the employee does not perform any productive work during such attendance.8

However, it is not voluntary in fact, if the employee is led to believe that their present working 

conditions or the continuance of their employment would be adversely affected by nonattendance. 

The training is considered to be directly related to the employee's job if it is designed to make the 

employee handle their job more effectively as distinguished from training him for another job, or to a 

new or additional skill. Time spent in such a course given by the employer or under his control is hours 

worked. 9 

Deductions 

An employer and employee may enter into a written agreement to provide for deductions of monetary 

obligations of an employee. Requiring an employee to give up wages to which they are entitled 

through force, intimidation, or threat of dismissal from employment, or any other manner is prohibited. 

A written agreement for deductions is not valid if it would reduce the employee’s wage rate below the 

statutory minimum wage and overtime rates. 

An employer may deduct from an employee’s wage for the following based on written agreement: 

 A deduction from wages could be made based on a written agreement signed by the employee,

directing the employer to provide wages for the employee’s benefit to a creditor, donee, or

other third party. An example of this type of deduction would be payments to an employee’s

medical insurance plan or retirement plan.

 Deductions, based on a written agreement signed by an employee, for charges for items which are

made available for the employee’s benefit, and are not sold to the public in the employer’s

usual course of business, and are purchased voluntarily by the employees. Examples of

deductions include:  pop, candy, cigarettes, magazines, books, etc., made available through the

company’s store. These types of deductions may be treated as an advance against wages and

may be deducted from minimum wage or overtime. In order to be considered an advance the

deducted charges must not extend beyond the pay period in which they were incurred. Charges

that are split over multiple pay periods would be classified as a loan and may not reduce the

employees wage rate below minimum wage or overtime rate.

8  29 C.F.R. § 785.27 
9  29 C.F.R. § 785.29 
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An employer may not deduct from an employee’s wages for the following: 

 Lost, missing, or stolen property, unless the employee admits willingly and in writing to having

personally taken the specific property alleged to be lost, missing or stolen.

 Damage or breakage costs, unless clearly due to willful conduct of the employee and the

employee has acknowledged responsibility in writing.

 For a more through list of unlawful deductions see Alaska regulation 8 AAC 15.160.

Uniforms: 

An employer may not require an employee to purchase a uniform or equipment if it’s use is 

required by the federal, state, or local safety or health codes. Additionally, purchase cannot be 

required if the nature of the business requires the use of the uniform or equipment, and if the 

uniform is distinctive and advertises the products or services of the employer and cannot be worn 

or used during normal social activities of the employee. An employer may charge for clothing or 

equipment that constitutes a uniform and that advertises the products or services of the business if 

the item is customarily sold to the public by the employer10 and can be worn or used during normal 

social activities of the employee. 

Room and Board 

When an employee lives in employer-furnished housing, the employer is allowed to deduct an amount 

from the employee’s wages for the reasonable cost of room and board. The amount of this deduction 

must be reasonable and without profit to the employer, directly or indirectly, and must be based on a 

written agreement signed by the employee. Use of the facilities must be voluntarily. A deduction of 

more than $15.00 per day would require a special determination made by the Wage and Hour 

Administration.11  

The hiring or firing of employees based upon the employee’s willingness to authorize deductions for 

room and board costs from their check is forbidden.12 

Deductions for room and board at remote sites are only allowed for workdays in which the employee 

works at least eight hours or for workweeks in which the employee works at least 40 hours.  If the 

employee refuses or is unable to work the minimum number of hours and the employer has made the 

minimum work hours available to the employee, room and board deductions is permissible.    

Furthermore, unless the employer and the employee have a written agreement signed by the employee, 

before the deduction, the employer is prohibited from seeking to retroactively deduct the cost of room 

and board from their wages at the time of termination.   

Right to Return Transportation and Subsistence 

An employer who provides, pays for, agrees to provide or pay for transportation for a person from the 

place of hire to a point inside or outside the state to employ the person shall, when to job comes to an 

10 8 AAC 15.165 
11 8AAC 15.160(f) 
12  8AAC 15.160 
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end, provide the person with return transportation to the place of hire, or to a destination agreed upon 

by both parties.13 This is defined as all transportation costs to return the employee only to the original 

place of hire.14  

 Return transportation is subject to the following conditions: 

 Must be provided on or after termination of employment for a cause considered good and

sufficient by the Department, or for reasons beyond the persons control, or after termination of

the contract of employment or a renewal of the contract.

 Must be provided to the eligible employee when requested by the employee or the Department

within 45 days after termination.

If an employer terminates an employee to whom return transportation is due, return transportation must 

be provided unless reason for termination is: 

1) Falsification of the employment application;

2) Intoxication;

3) Fighting; or

4) Unexcused absence from duties for more than three consecutive scheduled working days.

Return transportation is not due if an employee voluntarily terminates their position unless the 

employee’s reason for termination is one of the following: 

1) Misrepresentation of wages, working hours, lodging, or other conditions of employment; or

2) Working conditions of employer-provided lodging that is unsafe or unhealthy.15

When an employee is owed return transportation and immediate transportation back to the point of hire 

is unavailable, the employee is entitled to subsistence. Subsistence is due from the date of termination 

until the date that transportation becomes available, or for 10 days, whichever occurs first.16 

Subsistence is defined as board and lodging furnished by the employer or $100 per day furnished by 

employer for living expenses.17 

Proof of Earnings/Paycheck Stubs 

An employer must provide each employee a written or electronic statement of earnings and deductions 

for each pay period, otherwise known as a pay stub. The statement of earnings and deductions must 

contain the employee’s:  

 Rate of pay;

 Gross wages;

 Net wages;

 Beginning and end dates of the pay period;

 Federal income tax deductions;

 Federal Insurance Contribution Act deductions;

13 AS 23.10.380 
14 8AAC 20.030(1) 
15 8 AAC 20.010 
16 8 AAC 20.020 
17 8AAC 20.30(2) 
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 Alaska Employment Security Act contributions;

 Board and lodging costs;

 Advances;

 Straight time and overtime hours actually worked in the pay period;

 Other authorized deductions.18

Final Paycheck 

If the employment is terminated by the employee, payment is due at the next regular payday that is at 

least three days after the employer received notice of the employee’s termination of services. If 

employment is terminated by the employer, regardless of the cause for the termination, payment is due 

within three working days after the day of termination.19 The day of termination, weekends, and bank 

or state holidays, are not included in these three days. Where an employer violates this statute, the 

employer may be required to pay the employee a penalty in the amount of the employee’s regular 

wage, salary or other compensation from the time of demand to the time of payment, or for 90 working 

days, whichever is the lesser amount. Final paychecks are to be provided to the employee in the same 

manner that they normally receive them or an agreed upon manner. Employers should not take it upon 

themselves to mail final paychecks to the employee unless the employee agrees to this method. If final 

paychecks are mailed, we suggest that the employer verifies the address before sending the final 

paycheck and pay statement. 

Employers may not hold an employee’s final paychecks regardless of real or perceived debts owed to 

the employer. (See section on deductions for lawful withholding from an employees paycheck.) 

.  

Workers’ Compensation Coverage 

Any business operating in Alaska with even one part-time employee is required to carry workers’ 

compensation insurance under Alaska Statute 23.30.075. The policy must be bound in the State of 

Alaska; Alaska is not a reciprocal state and does not recognize coverage bound in any other state or 

country, even if the policy purports to cover an injury occurring in Alaska. There is no exemption for 

family members or friends for purposes of workers’ compensation liability. Employee status is 

determined using the independent contractor definition found in Alaska Statute 23.30.230(a)(12).  The 

criteria in this definition are all-inclusive.  Penalties for not having workers’ compensation coverage 

are severe. It is a crime under the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act for employers to misclassify 

employees or deduct all or any portion of workers’ compensation premiums from an employee’s 

paycheck. If you have questions regarding workers’ compensation requirements, please download and 

review the Employer’s Guide to the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act at 

https://labor.alaska.gov/wc/employer_guide_to_wc_act.pdf or contact the Alaska Division of Workers’ 

Compensation at (907) 269-4002 

Alaska Occupational Safety and Health 

All employees in Alaska have the right to a safe and healthy work environment under Alaska Statutes 

18.60.10 through AS 18.60.105.  Alaska Occupational Safety and Health (AKOSH) enforces these 

standards through inspections of workplaces.  Some of the most commonly found serious hazards are 

unguarded or improperly guarded machinery, insufficient Lock-out Tag-out work practices and 

18 8 AAC 15.160 
19 AS 23.05.140 
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insufficient safety training.  Often times, safety related training is not offered in all languages spoken 

by employees. AKOSH may inspect a workplace based on an employee complaint, report of a 

workplace injury, or through emphasis programs.  Employees have the right to submit workplace 

safety concerns to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) or AKOSH by phone, 

online or in person.  Names of complainants are confidential and are not disclosed to employers. 

Furthermore, both State and Federal law prohibit employers from retaliating or discriminating against 

employees who exercise their safety and health rights by filing complaints with management, AKOSH 

or OSHA (AS 18.60.089). Finally, employers are required to verbally  report any workplace accident 

that results in a death, amputation, loss of eye or inpatient hospitalization within 8 hours to AKOSH 

(AS 18.60.58).  

Anchorage Seafood Office 

Located within the Anchorage Job Center Midtown at 3301 Eagle Street, Room #102. The Seafood 

Office is the crossroads for Alaska's seafood workers and many seafood employers recruit directly 

from there. The following services are offered:  

 Seafood Orientations - Learn about working in the Alaskan seafood industry.

 Referrals and job placements based on jobseeker skills.

Office Hours: 

Monday – Friday, 8 a.m.- 5 p.m. 

To reach the Anchorage Seafood Office, call (907) 269-4746. Their website can be found at: 

https://jobs.alaska.gov/seafood/processing.html 

Resources 

In conclusion, a business that is involved in practices that are not consistent with Alaska labor laws 

must correct the discrepancies immediately to avoid future enforcement actions. We hope that 

businesses and individuals alike will take this opportunity to familiarize themselves with their rights 

and responsibilities under the Alaska labor laws.  

We have noted several applicable statutes and regulations for your review. Employers and employees 

are encouraged to conduct a complete review of Alaska’s wage and hour laws and regulations as 

published in the Pamphlet 100 publication, which can be found at:  

http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/forms/pam100.pdf.  

Our website can be found at:  http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/whhome.htm  

The Wage and Hour Administration provides a cost-free counseling service to Alaska employers, and 

we invite you to take advantage of this service. A regular, monthly webinar is offered to both 

employers and employees concerning wage and hour laws. To sign up and attend a webinar please 

contact our office at (907) 269-4900. In addition, an investigator is on duty each business day to 

answer any questions you may have. 

Through AKOSH, employers can request on-site evaluation visits and/or training to fit specific needs 

of their companies by filling out and submitting the online request form located at 

http://labor.alaska.gov/lss/forms/consultation_training_form.pdf 
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In some cases you may wish to contact an attorney.  The Alaska Lawyer Referral Service may be able 

to assist you with locating an attorney to address your specific concerns.  You may contact their office 

at 1-800-770-9999 or visit the following website for additional information: https://www.alaskabar.org 




