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i. because the employer misled the
employee as to the wages, the lodging or
the working conditions; or

ii. for health or safety reasons

Do Alaska Wage and Hour laws apply
outside the 3-mile limit for fishing claims?

Alaska laws apply only within the 3-mile
limit. Workers with problems outside

the 3-mile limit should talk to the U. S.
Department of Labor, the U. S. Coast Guard,
or a maritime lawyer.

If a fishing deckhand fishes within
the 3-mile limit, being exempt from
minimum wage and overtime, and
he/she performs other work such as
offloading fish, fueling, etc., does he/
she have to be paid minimum wage or
overtime for this other work?

No. Work that is related to the main job
of fishing is not covered by the Alaska
minimum wage or overtime laws.

Can a lien be filed against a vessel
when an employer does not pay the
crewshare or wages?

Yes, but the Wage and Hour office does not
file liens on boats. To file a lien contact the
nearest U. S. Marshal’s office.

If you process fish outside the 3-mile
limit, do the Alaska Wage and Hour
laws apply?

No, Alaska laws apply only to work within
the 3-mile limit.

The fishery closed two weeks ago. The
skipper won't pay crewshares until the
fish is sold. How long can a skipper
delay payment?

Alaska labor laws require employers to

pay employees who have been terminated
within three working days after the end of
employment. “Working days” does not include
weekends or holidays. This may not apply to
fishing deckhands who may not be “employees.”
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Does the skipper have to pay shares to
the crew for retroactive price changes
or boat owner costs that are paid by
the processor?

This depends upon the wording of the fishing
contract. If the contract leaves the crew out
of retroactive payment, the crew would not
have to be paid the retro payment.

Can the skipper change the crewshare
amount during or after the fishery
opening?

If the contract allows for a change in
the crewshare, it can be changed. If the
contract is silent or here is no written
contract, it cannot.

What can fishing deckhands do if they
are not paid their crewshare?

The Alaska Wage and Hour Administration
will take a wage claim for the amount

due by contract. The deckhand must
provide a copy of the crew contract and
calculations of the value of the fish caught
and expenses. Due to limited resources,
the Department will provide limited services
for deckhands fishing without a written
contract. These claims can be extremely
time-consuming and very difficult to collect
without sufficient evidence. The Department
cannot take a wage claim that exceeds $20,000.
If your crewshare is more than $20,000, you
should contact an attorney for assistance.

For more information or to ask
specific questions, contact the
Wage and Hour office:

Email: statewide.wagehour@alaska.gov

Phone: (907) 269-4900

We are an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available
upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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his Pocket Guide answers the questions

most often asked about WAGE & HOUR

LAWS for fishing deckhands and fish
processor workers in the Alaska fishing industry.

These answers are general and may not apply to
all workers or employers. In many cases, fishing
deckhands are “joint partners” in the fishing
venture and are not employees.

FAQs

1. What is Alaska’s minimum wage?
Effective Jan. 1, 2025, Alaska’s minimum
wage is $11.91 per hour.

2. What is the overtime law?

In Alaska, overtime must be paid at the rate
of one and one-half times the regular hourly
rate for all hours worked over 8 in a single

day or over 40 straight-time hours in a week.

3. Should fishing deckhands be paid
minimum wage and overtime?

They do not have to be paid minimum wage
or overtime when working as fishing
deckhands.

4. Should employees of a fish processor
be paid minimum wage?

Yes. Employees of a floating processor who
work within the 3-mile limit or for a shore-
based processor must be paid minimum
wage and overtime.

5. Should deckhands on a floating
processor be paid minimum wage?

Yes. They must be paid minimum wage.

6. Should deckhands or seamen on a
floating processor be paid overtime?

No. They are exempt from overtime laws.

7. Should fishing deckhands have a written
contract before going out to fish?

Both state and federal law require a
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written contract between the fishing
deckhands and the company or skipper
before going out to fish.

Should fishing deckhands get paid if
they have a written contract and they
do not go out to fish?

It depends on the contract language and
the reason for not fishing. If the season is
called off or closed, they do not have to be
paid. If the skipper did not allow them to
fish and they worked getting the boat or
gear ready before fishing, they should be
paid at least minimum wage.

Do fish processor employees have to
have a written contract?

Yes. They must be told, in writing, what
the wages are. Wages must be at least the
Alaska minimum wage for all hours worked
and one and one-half times that for all
hours worked over 8 in a single day or over
40 straight-time hours in a week.

Can money be taken from the wages
of a fishing deckhand for food, gas and
charges to the company store?

If the fishing deckhand has agreed,
preferably in writing, to have these charges
taken out of his or her pay, then they can be.

Can the employer take money from a
fish processor employee’s paycheck for
charges to the company store?

Yes. Charges to a company store can be
considered as an advance on wages and can
be deducted even below minimum wage
and overtime. The employee must approve
these deductions in writing.

Can the cost of protective clothing be
taken from the wages of a deckhand
or fish processor who is eligible for
minimum wage?

No, an employer may not deduct from the
minimum wage or overtime payments. If
the clothing is required by federal, state or
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local safety or health codes, the employer
must provide the equipment or clothing at
no cost to the employee.

If a fishing deckhand has to travel
from the point of hire to the
workplace, who pays for that travel
and the return costs?

This is a question that has a number of
answers depending on the facts. Here are
some examples:

If an employer gives a fishing deckhand the
travel costs to get to the fishing grounds,
the travel costs may be taken out of the
crewshare earned by the deckhand.
If the skipper or employer supplies the
travel costs and the terms of the contract
are met by the fishing deckhand, then the
deckhand must be returned to the point of
hire at the skipper’s or employer’s expense.
If a fishing deckhand’s travel costs to the fishing
ground were paid by the employer and they
fished only outside the 3-mile limit, then return
travel costs do not have to be paid because they
fished only outside Alaska waters.
If the employer pays all or part of the travel
costs, provides the travel, or advances the
cost of travel expenses from place of hire
to place of work, the employer must pay
for the return trip or provide return travel.
The return travel must be to the point of
hire or to a place agreed upon by both the
employee and the employer An employer
does not have to pay for return travel if the
employee was fired for any of the following:
i. lying on a job application;
ii. abusing alcohol or drugs as determined
by the employer;
iii. fighting; or
iv. unexcused absence from work for more
than three consecutive scheduled work
days.
If an employee quits the job, the employer
does not have to pay for the return travel
unless the employee quit for one of the
following reasons:
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