
ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT 

For departmental use only 
☐GENERAL DUTIES WORK PERMIT

APPROVED FOR: 
☐16 & 17 YEAR OLD MINORS; OR
☐14 – 17 YEAR OLD MINORS

By: Date: 
 

INDIVIDUAL WORK PERMIT: 
1. Employer completes and signs Section A.
2. Parent or guardian completes and signs Section B.
3. Employer verifies minor’s age, agrees to keep a copy of the proof 

of age on file at the employer’s premises and submits work 
permit by email, fax or in person. 

4. When the approved work permit is returned from the
department, the minor may begin work. 

5. Work permit is valid until employment is terminated.

GENERAL DUTIES WORK PERMIT: 
1. Employer completes and signs Section A.
2. Employer submits work permit to Wage and Hour office.
3. The approved duties are returned to the employer.
4. Employer obtains the signature of the minor’s parent or

guardian in Section B, verifies minor’s age and agrees to keep a 
copy of the proof of age on file at the employer’s premises. The 
minor may then begin work.

5. Employer must return a copy of the completed work
permit to the department within seven (7) calendar days
of minor beginning to work.

6. Work permit is valid through the approved calendar year.
Section (A) to be completed by EMPLOYER 

Name of Employer: Doing Business As (DBA): 

Employer Email: (if no email, please provide fax number): Employer Telephone Number: Employer Fax Number: 

Employer Local Mailing Address: City and State: Zip: 

Location of Employment (Physical Address): City and State: Zip: 

Duties to be performed by minor: Tools, Equipment or Machinery to be used by minor (be specific): 

Hourly Rate: Pay Periods: 

Will the minor be working at an establishment that sells alcohol?  ☐YES  ☐ NO 
Alcohol License #: 

If yes, is your alcohol license a Restaurant or eating place license or do you have a restaurant endorsement with the Alcohol Beverage 
Control Board?   ☐ YES ☐ NO

  Restaurant Endorsement #: 

√ SEE REVERSE SIDE - FEDERAL LIMITATIONS MAY BE MORE STRICT.
HOURS OF WORK FOR YOUTHS AGES 14 AND 15 YEARS WILL BE RESTRICTED AS INDICATED BELOW: 

When school is in session, hours will be limited to a combined total of nine hours of school attendance plus employment in any one day; work will be performed only between 
the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. Total hours worked in one week will be limited to 23 hours. 
During school vacations, work hours will be limited to a maximum of 8 hours per day and a maximum of 40 hours per week; work will be performed only between the hours 
of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. 

I affirm and agree that such working conditions will be maintained and that any and all changes shall have the prior approval of the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce 
Development. I also affirm that I have verified and will keep on file valid proof of age of this minor employee at the employment premises. 

Printed Name of Employer or Agent Acting for Employer Signature Date 

Section (B) to be completed by PARENT or GUARDIAN prior to employment of minor 
Name of Minor (Print): Address: Date of Birth: 

I affirm that I am the ☐ parent/stepparent or the ☐ non-parent legal guardian of the above-named minor and that such minor has my
consent to be employed in any  occupation authorized by the Alaska child labor laws, Alaska Statutes 23.10.325-370. 

Printed name of parent/legal guardian Signature (Legal guardian must attach documentation) 
(Power of Attorney or Guardianship documents) 

Telephone Number Date 

NOTICE: All information requested is required to process this work permit. Records of the Department are public records and may be subject to 
inspection and copying under AS 40.25.110 or be provided to other State agencies (see AS 47.12.310). Rev 04/17/2025 

For departmental use only 
☐ APPROVED INDIVIDUAL WORK PERMIT 

☐ APPROVED AS AMENDED:

☐ DENIED

By: Date: 



Rev 04/17/2025 

DOLWD – LSS 
Wage and Hour 

P.O. Box 111149 
Juneau, AK 99811-1149 
Phone: (907) 269-4900 

Statewide.wagehour@alaska.gov

DOLWD – LSS 
Wage and Hour 

1251 Muldoon Road, Suite 113 
Anchorage, AK 99504 

Phone: (907) 269-4900 
Statewide.wagehour@alaska.gov 

DOLWD – LSS 
Wage and Hour 

675 Seventh Avenue, Station J-1 
Fairbanks, AK 99701 

Phone: (907) 269-4900 
Statewide.wagehour@alaska.gov 

EMPLOYERS PLEASE NOTE: 
OCCUPATIONS PROHIBITED TO ALL MINORS UNDER 18: 

1. Occupations in manufacturing, handling, or use of explosives. 
2. Occupations of motor vehicle driver or helper (limited exceptions.) 
3. Mining operations including coal. 
4. Logging or occupations in the operations of any sawmill, lath mill, shingle mill or 

cooperage. 
5. Operations of power-driven woodworking machines. 
6. Occupations with exposure to radioactive substances and to ionizing radiation. 
7. Occupations involving exposure to bloodborne pathogens. 
8. Operation of elevators or other power-driven hoisting apparatus. 
9. Operation of power-driven metal forming, punching, and shearing machines. 
10. Occupations involving slaughtering, meatpacking or processing, or rendering. 
11. Occupations involved in the operation and cleaning of power-driven bakery

machines. 
12. Occupations involved in the operation of power-driven paper products

machines. 
13. Occupations involved in the manufacture of brick, tile, and kindred products. 
14. Occupations involved in the operation and cleaning of circular saws, band saws

and guillotine shears. 
15. Occupations involved in wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking operations. 
16. Occupations involved in roofing operations. 
17. Occupations involved with excavation operations. 
18. Electrical work with voltages exceeding 220, or outside erection or repair, and

meter-testing, including telegraph and telephone lines. 
19. Occupations involved in canvassing, peddling, door-to-door solicitation, or sales. 

IF UNDER 16 THESE ADDITIONAL OCCUPATIONS ARE 
ALSO PROHIBITED: 

1. Occupations in manufacturing, mining, or processing, including work rooms or 
places where goods are manufactured, mined, or otherwise processed. 

2. Occupations involved in operation of hoisting or power-driven machinery other 
than office machines. 

3. Operation of motor vehicle or service as helper on motor vehicle. 
4. Public messenger service. 
5. Occupations in or about canneries, seafood plants, including cutting, slicing, or 

butchering, or the operation of any floating plant and including loading or 
unloading. 

6. Work performed in or about boilers, engine rooms, or retorts. 
7. Work involved with maintenance or repair of the establishment’s machines or 

equipment. 
8. Occupations that involve working from window sills, ladders, scaffolds, or their 

substitutes. 
9. Occupations which involve operating, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling, or 

repair of power-driven food slicers, grinders, choppers, cutters, and bakery-type
mixers. 

10. Work in freezers, meat coolers, or preparation of meat for sale. 
11. Loading or unloading to and from trucks, railroad cars, or meat conveyors. 
12. Occupations in warehouses except office and clerical work. 
13. Occupations involving use of sharpened tools. 
14. Occupations in transportation of persons or property, warehousing and storage, 

construction (including demolition and repair) except office or sales work in 
connection with these occupations. 

The federal prohibition on the hours 14 and 15 year old minors may be allowed to work is stricter than Alaskan law. Due to this conflict, an employer of 14 or 15 year old 
minors may find  that they are in compliance with State law, but in violation of federal law. For example: 

Federal Law State Law 
Children 14 and 15 years old may only work: 
1. Outside school hours. 
2. No more than 40 hours in any one week when school is not in session. 
3. Not more than 18 hours in any week when school is in session. 
4. Not more than 8 hours in any one day when school is not in session. 
5. Not more than 3 hours in any one day when school is in session. 
6. Between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. in any one day except during the summer (June 1 

through Labor Day), when the evening hours will be 9 p.m. 

Children 14 and 15 years old may work: 
1. A total of 9 hours of school and work combined in one day. 
2. Only between the hours of 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. 
3. No more than 23 hours per week outside of school hours (domestic work and

babysitting excepted). 
4. No more than 6 days per week. 

There are certain exceptions to the federal law; for example, children in work-study programs through their schools are exempt from some or all of the hour  restrictions. For further 
information on the federal law, contact the United States Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Telephone: 1-866-487-9243. Or in Anchorage: (907) 271-2867 

TITLE 4 ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES and MARIJUANA/CANNABIS-- ALASKA STATUTES 
AS 04.16.049. Access of persons under the age of 21 to licensed premises.  

(a) A person under 21 years of age may not knowingly enter or remain in premises licensed under this title unless
(1) accompanied by a parent, guardian, or spouse who has attained 21 years of age; 
(2) the person is allowed to enter and remain on the premises under a 76 restaurant or eating place license issued under AS 04.09.210, seasonal restaurant or 

eating place tourism license issued under AS 04.09.360, or restaurant endorsement issued under AS 04.09.450;  
(3) the person is permitted on the premises under a club license issued AS 04.09.220(g) or former AS 04.11.110(g); or 
(4) otherwise provided under (c), (d), or (g) of this section. 

(b) Notwithstanding (a) of this section, a license or an agent or employee of the licensee may refuse entry to a person under 21 years of age to that part of licensed premises in 
which alcoholic beverages are sold, served, or consumed, may refuse service to a person under 21 years of age, or may require a person under 21 years of age to leave the 
portion of the licensed premises in which alcoholic beverages are sold, served, or consumed. 
(c) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, a person 16 or 17 years of age may enter and remain within the licensed premises of a hotel or motel, large resort, golf 
course, general wholesaler, limited brewed beverage and wine wholesaler, common carrier dispensary, outdoor recreation lodge, or restaurant in the course of employment if 

(1) the employment does not involve the serving, mixing, delivering, or dispensing of alcoholic beverages; 
(2) the person has the written consent of a parent or guardian; and 
(3) an exemption from the prohibition of AS 23.10.355 is granted by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development. 

TOBACCO and PULL-TABS 

AS 11.76.106 restricts access to areas where tobacco and tobacco products are sold. Minors under 19 years may not sell tobacco or tobacco products in the course of their 
employment. 15 AAC 160.480(b) prohibits the sale of pull-tabs by anyone under the age of 21. 

THIS FORM IS AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET AT: www.labor.state.ak.us/lss/forms/workpermit.pdf 
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