PROPOSED CHANGES TO THE ALASKA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION
REEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS SYSTEM

INTRODUCTION

This paper provides a summary of the Alaska Workers” Compensation Division’s Reemployment
Benefits section, and the Department of Labor and Workforce Development’s proposed changes to
the workers” compensation reemployment benefit system. The Department is addressing this issue
now because it has received repeated calls for reform by numerous stakeholder groups.

This paper is intended to identify best practices and promote discussion between workers,
employers, insurance carriers, medical providers, state officials, and other parties striving to strike
the correct balance between workers’ compensation reemployment benefits and the cost of those
benefits.

THE CURRENT REEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS SYSTEM

The Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act (Act) provides for the payment by employers or their
insurance carriers of medical, disability, and reemployment benefits to injured workers. Under the
Act, an employee who suffers a work-related injury and cannot return to the same job may request
reemployment benefits to obtain retraining in a new occupation. The reemployment benefits
administrator (RBA) determines whether an injured worker is eligible for reemployment benefits
based primarily on a rehabilitation specialist’s evaluation and report.

If an injured worker is found eligible for reemployment benefits, the injured worker must choose
whether to pursue retraining, or waive retraining and receive a lump sum payment. If an injured
worker chooses retraining, the retraining plan must provide the injured worker with the skills
necessary to return to work in the shortest possible time, with a maximum of $13,300 in plan costs.
An employer pays the injured worker a stipend, equal to 70% of the injured worker’s weekly wages,
every two weeks while the injured worker is in the reemployment process.

CHALLENGES

The Act requires a reemployment benefits eligibility evaluation when an injured worker has been off
work for 90 days. This time frame is too short to be effective because often an injured worker is
still receiving medical care and is not yet ready for an evaluation, has already returned to work and
does not need retraining, or has no interest in participating in the reemployment process. The Act
does not allow an injured worker to exit the reemployment benefits eligibility process once it has
begun.

The Act lacks a fee schedule for rehabilitation services. This, combined with a small, declining pool
of qualified rehabilitation specialists, has led to very high fees for what is often poor-quality work.

Currently, retraining plans focus on the quickest option to return an injured worker to work
regardless of interest in that vocational goal, and at a maximum plan cost of $13,300. This amount,
which has not been adjusted since 2000, is often insufficient to create a plan that meets statutory
requirements.
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DEPARTMENT’S PROPOSED CHANGES

In response to these challenges, the Workers’ Compensation Board issued the attached Resolution
No. 13-01 in 2013, which was unanimously approved by both labor and industry. The Department
agrees with most of the Board’s recommendations, but disagrees with some.

The Department agrees with:

Shifting the focus from retraining to return to work. This would improve worker outcomes.
Making eligibility evaluations voluntary instead of mandatory. This would keep the process from
being forced upon injured workers who do not wish to participate in it, wasting valuable time,
money, and resources.

Establishing a fee schedule for rehabilitation services. This is critical to control increasing
rehabilitation specialist fees.

Increasing retraining costs. Retraining costs were last increased from $10,000 to $13,300 in
2000. The US Department of Labor CPI Inflation Calculator equates $13,300 in 2000 to
$19,300 in 2017.

Increasing evaluation time from 30 days to 60 days, providing a statutory provision for RBA
reconsideration within 30 days of decision, and allowing employers to controvert benefits for
employee noncooperation. This would make the reemployment benefit process much more
efficient.

The Department does not agree with:

Strengthening the criteria for an individual to provide reemployment services. This is
unnecessary, as the Act already requires that credentialed individuals provide them, and there are
already so few qualified individuals to provide such services in Alaska. Instead, the focus should
be on enforcing the existing statutory requirements.

Allowing a lump sum cash payment to be paid out for retraining. Such payment is ineffective in
returning injured workers to work because injured workers often do not return to work
independently. Instead they utilize other public systems to meet their needs (Division of
Vocational Rehabilitation, Adult Public Assistance, Social Security Administration, etc.),
effectively shifting the cost of a workers’ compensation injury to other state and federal
programs.

The Department additionally recommends:

Focusing on retraining plans that allow training an injured worker for a job they are actually
interested in, versus one that is merely the quickest option. This would allow greater flexibility
in retraining plan development, provide more successful outcomes, and would allow altering a
plan found to be flawed or if circumstances change.

Obtaining stakeholder input on how to ensure employees receive benefits for basic living
expenses during the retraining process, while incentivizing them to complete retraining and
return to the workforce. The problem with paying an employee a stipend equal to 70% of the
injured worker’s weekly wages while in the reemployment process is that it disincentivizes an
early return to work. The stipend is often used as a litigation tool and settlement tactic because
the stipend is paid for up to two years, but the two-year time limitation does not begin to run
until an injured worker agrees to a retraining plan.

Establishing a method to exit the reemployment benefits system for circumstances such as when
an injured worker no longer wishes to participate in retraining or has returned to work and no
longer requires retraining.
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RESOLUTION NUMBER 13-01
RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF ADDRESSING SYSTEM COSTS
UNDER THE ALASKA WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ACT

WHEREAS, the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Board (Board) is a public organization that is
accountable through its members to the residents, the Legislature, and the Governor of Alaska;

WHEREAS, the Board acts as the lead state agency for adjudicating disputes under the Alaska
Workers’ Compensation Act, to ensure quick, efficient, and fair payments of benefits to injured
workers at a reasonable cost to employers;

WHEREAS, Alaska’s workers’ compensation premium rates are the highest in the nation
according to the October 2012 Oregon Workers’ Compensation Premium Rate Ranking
Summary;

WHEREAS, medical costs comprise $.75 of each dollar spent on workers’ compensation
benefits;

WHEREAS, medical benefit costs have risen 25% over the last 5 years despite a 14.2% decline in
the frequency of workers’ compensation claims over the same period;

WHEREAS, research is clear that inappropriate opioid use is an epidemic damaging lives and
driving up costs, as stated in the August 28, 2013 joint policy recommendations of the
International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions, the American College
of Occupational and Environmental Medicine; the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners, the National Alliance for Model State Drug Laws, and the National Council of
Insurance Legislators;

WHEREAS, rehabilitation and reemployment of injured workers costs employers $12.9 million
in CY2012, with fewer than 8% of eligible injured workers successfully completing retraining;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Board respectfully requests that the Alaska State
Legislature amend the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act to provide the following:

1. That all fees and charges for medical treatment be subject to regulation by the Board;

2. That the physician fee schedule be based on Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS) resource based relative value scale (RBRVS) increased by a board
specified conversion factor;

3. That the outpatient hospital/ambulatory surgical center fee schedule be based on CMS
ambulatory payment classification increased by a board specified conversion factor;
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10.

11.

12.

13.

That the inpatient hospital fee schedule be based on CMS Medicare severity diagnostic
related group (MSDRG) increased by a board specified base rate;

That the Board evaluate board specified conversion factors and rates every two years;
That air ambulance services be reimbursed at a board specified rate;

That medical providers be required to bill payers within 180 days of date of service;

That medical providers must submit a claim for disputed payment within 60 days of the
disputed payment;

That reimbursement for out-of-state services be the lower of the workers’
compensation fee schedule in the jurisdiction where the service is provided or the
workers’ compensation fee schedule adopted in Alaska;

That durable medical equipment not included in a covered medical procedure be
reimbursed at manufacturer’s invoice plus a board specified markup.

That reimbursement for prescription drugs be based on manufacturer’s invoice plus a
board specified mark-up and dispensing fee;

That prescription drugs dispensed by a physician include the manufacturer’s national
drug code (NDC) assigned by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, and are subject to
the same prescription drug formulary as retail pharmacies; and

Authorize the Board to adopt regulations relating to the prescription of opioids.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board respectfully requests that the Alaska State Legislature
amend the Alaska Workers’” Compensation Act to authorize the department, in adopting or
amending a regulation that incorporates a document or other material by reference, to
“incorporate future amended versions of a document or other material if it is one of the

following:

1. Current Procedural Terminology Codes, produced by the American Medical Association;

2. Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System, produced by the American Medical
Association;

3. International Classification of Diseases, published by the American Medical Association;

4. Relative Value Guide, produced by the American Society of Anesthesiologists;

5. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, produced by the American
Psychiatric Association;

6. Current Dental Terminology, published by the American Dental Association;

7. Resource Based Relative Value Scale, produced by CMS;

8. Ambulatory Payment Classifications, produced by CMS;

9. Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Groups (MSDRG), produced by CMS;

10. National Correct Coding Initiative Edits produced by CMS; or

11. Any other document or material the board incorporates by reference.
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BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that that the Board respectfully requests that the Alaska State
Legislature amend the Alaska Workers’ Compensation Act to provide the following:

1. Transition from emphasis on retraining to emphasis on stay-at-work/return-to-work and
on a voluntary basis, provide an initial consultation with the employer, the employee,
and the employee’s treating physician to determine the physical demands of the
employer and the physical capacities of the employee to determine whether a stay-at-
work/return-to-work plan can be implemented.

2. A repeal of the 90 day mandatory reemployment evaluation under AS 23.30.041, and
return to evaluations on the request of either the employer or the employee.

3. Adopt the following:

a. Strengthen criteria by eliminating reemployment services by non-credentialed
individuals and eliminating reemployment services being administered by firms
not principally owned by credentialed individuals.

b. Authorize the Board to establish fees for reemployment specialist services.

c. Increase the benefit under .041(l) from $13,300 to $18,600, and adjust to cpi
annually.

d. If found eligible, provide two choices

i. accept retraining with limit of 2 years and maximum benefit under
.041(l), or
ii. accept a one-time cash payment of the maximum benefit under .041(l)
plus 50%.
Increase evaluation time from 30 days to 60 days.

5. Provide statutory provision for RBA reconsideration with 30 days of decision.

Amend the statute to allow employers to controvert based on noncooperation & follow
regular claim process.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of the Resolution be promptly transmitted to the
Governor, the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the House, and the Chairman of the
Senate and House Labor and Commerce Committees.
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CERTIFICATION

The Alaska Workers’ Compensation Board held a meeting duly and regularly called, noticed,
and convened this 27" day of September, 2013, and the foregoing Resolution was adopted at
said meeting.

Signed this 27 day of September, 2013
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